Pop Douglas Firs

Douglas Firs


Douglas Firs is a Belgian indie band, formed by Gertjan Van Hellemont, with Simon Casier (see also Balthazar) on bass, Christophe Claeys (see also Amatorski and Magnus) on drums and Douglas’ older brother Sem on keys.

When their first album Shimmer & Glow (2012) got rave reviews and no less than four radio singles in Belgium and The Netherlands, Douglas Firs took to stages in Belgium, The Netherlands, Switzerland and Germany. He also did some gigs at the US West Coast and in Canada, where he started writing new songs for second album The Long Answer Is No. Songs about life, love, and the importance of having a pet turtle some time in your life.

Douglas Firs recorded the new album in Mechelen, Belgium, with co-producer and engineer Jasper Maekelberg. The album features guest performances by The Bony King of Nowhere, Steven De Bruyn on blues harp, Patrica Vanneste’s (Balthazar) string quartet and David Poltrock (Hooverphonic, De Mens) on Hammond organ.

Douglas then flew to Chicago, where he stayed at the Wilco Loft, to have the album mixed by studio wizard Tom Schick (Wilco, Ryan Adams, Norah Jones, M Ward, …). It was mastered by Fred Kevorkian (The National, Joan As Police Woman, Sonic Youth, ...) in New York.

After excellent debut Shimmer & Glow, The Long Answer Is No sounds like Douglas Firs is/are eager to see the world.

Upcoming Shows